Lectures of the Thirty-eighth Woudschoten Conference

keynote speakers 2013.jpg

Keynote speakers of the Woudschoten conference 2013 (f.l.t.r.):
Olivier Le Maître, Andrew Stuart, Pavel Solin, Ricardo Nochetto, Youssef Marzouk and Serge Prudhomme.

The organising committee is very happy to present the lectures as shown on the Woudschoten conference 2013. The thirty-eighth Woudschoten Conference was held at the Woudschoten Conference Centre, Zeist, The Netherlands from 2-4 October 2013.

  • Adaptive finite element methods
    • Ricardo Nochetto (USA)
      • Convergence Rates for AFEM: General Theory [lecture]
      • Convergence Rates for AFEM: PDE on Parametric Surfaces [lecture]
    • Serge Prudhomme (Canada)
      • An introduction to goal-oriented error estimation [lecture]
      • Adaptive modeling for coupling methods [lecture]
    • Pavel Solin (USA)
      • Selected Topics in Adaptive Higher-Order FEM [1] [2] [3]
      • A: hp-Adaptivity for Time-Dependent Problems with Dynamically Changing Meshes [4] [5] [6] [7]
      • B: Network Computing Laboratory
  • Inverse problems and uncertainty quantification
    Invited speakers:
    • Andrew Stuart (England)
      • Bayesian Inversion: Applicatios and Mathematical Foundations [lecture]
      • Bayesian Inversion: Algorithms [lecture]
    • Olivier Le Maître (France)
      • Stochastic Spectral Methods for Uncertainty Quantification [lecture]
      • A Stochastic Roe-Scheme and Anisotropic Multi-Resolution Schemes for Uncertain Conservation Law Problems [lecture]
    • Youssef Marzouk (USA)
      • Bayesian inference as optimal transportation [lecture]
      • Tractable Bayesian inference in inverse problems: forward approximation and dimension reduction [lecture]

One-minute poster session: All participants were invited to present a poster concerning their research. Every presenter of a poster received a one-minute slot in the conference programme (in a plenary session) to attract the attention to his or her poster. See the PDF files the one-minute session.

The following posters were rated the best by a jury consisting of the keynote speakers under the leadingship of Kees Vuik:

Wybe Rozema.jpg  Michael Abdel Malik.jpg Elena Gagarina.jpg 
1. Wybe Rozema (RUG)
Symmetry-preserving methods for compressible flow
2. Michael Abdel Malik (Tue)
Moment closure approximations for the Boltzmann equation
3. Elena Gagarina (UT)
Symplectic Time Discontinuous Galerkin Discretizations

Support: The Conferences of the Dutch-Flemish Numerical Analysis Communities are held yearly, organised by the Werkgemeenschap Scientific Computing (WSC). Support is provided by the Centrum Wiskunde & Informatica (CWI). Financial support for this conference is provided by the 3TU Applied Mathematics Institute (3TU.AMI), Shell Global Solutions International B.V., the Netherlands Organization for Scientific Research (NWO), the Nonlinear Dynamics of Natural Systems(NDNS+), VORtech BV, the scientific software engineers (VORtech),

Organising committee 2013: Harald van Brummelen (chair), Hans Kraaijevanger, Stefan Vandewalle, Jaap van der Vegt, Margreet Nool (secretary)

Number of participants: 94
Number of posters: 28

Impression 2013

DSC_0869.jpg  DSC_0879.jpg  DSC_0881.jpg  DSC_0886.jpg  DSC_0890.jpg  DSC_0892.jpg  DSC_0896.jpg  DSC_0899.jpg  DSC_0909.jpg  DSC_0919.jpg  DSC_0948.jpg

More photos of the Thirty-eighth Woudschoten Conference