Lectures of the forty-third Woudschoten Conference

Keynote Speakers of the Woudschoten conference 2018 (f.l.t.r.)
Xiaoye Sherry Li, Raul F. Tempone, Rob Falgout, Jennifer Scott, Aretha Teckentrup, Giovanni Samaey

The organizing committee is very happy to present the lectures as shown on the Woudschoten conference 2018.
The forty-third Woudschoten Conference was held at the Woudschoten Conference Centre, Zeist, The Netherlands from 3-5 October 2018.

Themes and speakers of the 2018 conference were:

1. Multilevel Monte Carlo methods

* Aretha Teckentrup (University of Edinburgh)
Lecture 1; Multilevel Monte Carlo methods for random partial differential equations
Lecture 2; Multilevel Monte Carlo methods for inverse problems constrained by partial differential equations

* Raul F. Tempone (King Abdullah University of Science and Technology)
Lecture 1; Adaptive algorithms for Multilevel Monte Carlo
Lecture 2; Multi-index Monte Carlo and Multi-index Stochastic Collocation

Sheet 3


2. Recent developments in time-integration methods for ODEs and PDEs

* Rob Falgout (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory)
Lecture 1; Parallel Time Integration – An Approaching Paradigm Shift for Scientific Computing
Lecture 2; Parallel Multigrid Reduction in Time – Theory, Practice, and Applications

* Giovanni Samaey (KU Leuven)
Lecture 1; The multiscale nature of interacting particle systems and computational methods
Lecture 2; A computational multiscale framework based on micro-macro coupling

3. Sparse direct linear solvers

* Jennifer Scott (University of Reading and Science and Technology Facilities Council)
Lecture 1; Sparse Direct Solvers I: The challenge
Lecture 2; Sparse Direct Solvers II: The key ingredients

* Xiaoye Sherry Li (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory)
Lecture 1; Exploiting Parallelism in Sparse Matrix Computations
Lecture 2; Distributed-memory Sparse Direct and Hybrid Solvers


One-minute Poster session:

All participants were invited to present a poster concerning their research. Every presenter of a poster received a one-minute slot in the conference programme (in a plenary session) to attract the attention to his or her poster. PDF files of the one-minute session can be found here.

The following posters were rated the best by a jury consisting of almost all keynote speakers and Bas van 't Hof from Vortech. This year there were two third price winners.
First price for Vandana Dwarka (TUD)

Second price for Prashant Kumar (CWI)

 Third price for Merel de Leeuw den Bouter (TUD)

Third price for Pieterjan Robbe (KUL)




The conferences of the Dutch-Flemish Numerical Analysis Communities are held yearly, organised by the Dutch-Flemish Scientific Computing Society.
The organising committee 2018:
Stefan Vandewalle (KUL, chair), Barry Koren (TUE), Rob Bisseling (UU), Martine Anholt (CWI, secretary).


Support is provided by the Centrum Wiskunde & Informatica (CWI).




Financial support for the 2018 conference is provided by:
The 4TU Applied Mathematics Institute (4TU.AMI)









The Netherlands Organization for Scientific Research (NWO)





The Nonlinear Dynamics of Naturla Systems (NDNS+)






VORtech BV, the scientific software engineers (VORtech)






Number of participants: 94, of whom 21 women
Number of PhD students: 43, of whom 14 women
Number of posters: 35




More Pictures can be found here.