2019 Speakers


 Gianluigi Rozza (SISSA) is professor in Numerical Analysis and Scientific computing at International School for Advanced Studies -SISSA, Trieste, Italy. Phd in Applied Mathematics at EPFL in 2005, MSc in Aerospace Engineering at Politecnico di Milano in 2002, post-doc at MIT. At SISSA he is the coordinator of SISSA doctoral program in Mathematical Analysis, Modelling and Applications, lecturer in the master in High Performance Computing, in  the master degree in Mathematics, and in the master degree in Data Science and Scientific Computing. He is SISSA Director’s delegate for Valorisation, Innovation, Technology Transfer and Industrial Cooperation. His research is mostly focused in numerical analysis and scientific computing, developing reduced order methods. Author of more than 100 scientific publications (editor of five books and author of two books).   Principal Investigator of the European Research Council Consolidator Grant (H2020) AROMA-CFD and for the project FARE-AROMA-CFD funded by Italian Government. Within SISSA mathLab he is responsible of UBE (Under Water Blue Efficiency project), SOPHYA (Seakeeping Of Planing Hull for YAchts) and PRELICA projects, within the regional maritime technology cluster MARE FVG, and coordinator of industrial projects with several companies, such as Danieli, Electrolux and Fincantieri.  He is associate editor of SIAM SINUM, SIAM/ASA JUQ, Computing and Visualisation in Science, and Mathematics in Engineering. He is member of the Applied Mathematics Committee of  European Mathematical Society.


 Karen Veroy-Grepl (RWTH, Aachen University)
Karen Veroy-Grepl (RWTH Aachen University) is originally from Manila, Philippines, and obtained her bachelors degree in physics from the Ateneo de Manila University.  In 1997 she went to the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in Cambridge, MA, where she did her masters, doctoral, and postdoctoral studies.  After moving to Germany and a brief stint in industry, she was appointed Junior Professor at RWTH Aachen University in 2010.  She was promoted to Professor in 2014, and is currently head of the High-Performance Computation for Engineered Systems Group.  She was inducted to the Junior College of the North-Rhine Westphalian Academy of the Sciences and the Arts in 2010, and was awarded a 2017 NRW Fellowship for Innovation in Digital Teaching.  She was recently awarded a coveted ERC Consolidator Grant by the European Research Commission for her project to develop mathematical and computational methods for the simulation of multiscale material behavior.  


 Carsten Carstensen (Humboldt Universität zu Berlin)
Carsten Carstensen heads the Numerical Analysis Group at the Institute of Mathematics with current foci in the computational partial differential equations on nonstandard discretizations (ranging from Crouzeix-Raviart to discontinuous Petrov-Galerkin) or the mathematical  foundation of adaptive mesh-refining in terms of axioms and examples.
He studied Mathematics and Civil Engineering in Hannover  from 1983-1989 and wrote a PhD thesis about  a topic in numerical linear algebra in 1989.  His habilitation thesis on the coupling of finite and boundary element methods was  awarded  with the von-Mises price of GAMM in 1995. He went to the TH Darmstadt as C3 professor at the same time after two years  post-doc at Edinburgh with John Ball on 
microstructures.  He accepted the  chair of applied mathematics and scientific computing in Kiel in 1996 and moved on to  in Vienna in 2001 and to  Berlin in 2004. 
He has written 250 papers, has an h-index 51, and an Erdos number three; he has served for many years on editorial boards such as SINUM or Math Comp and is the editor-in-chief of CMAM.  He co-founded the GAMM activity group on microstructures, was the director of the Center of Computational Sciences Adlershof 2010--2015,  and chairs a technical  committee of ECCOMAS. He is a  correspondent member of the Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Literatur Mainz since 2004.
   Emmanuil Georgoulis (University of Leicester/ NTU Athens)


George Karniadakis (Brown University) received his S.M. and Ph.D. from Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He was appointed Lecturer in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at MIT in 1987 and subsequently he joined the Center for Turbulence Research at Stanford / Nasa Ames. He joined Princeton University as Assistant Professor in the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering and as Associate Faculty in the Program of Applied and Computational Mathematics. He was a Visiting Professor at Caltech in 1993 in the Aeronautics Department and joined Brown University as Associate Professor of Applied Mathematics in the Center for Fluid Mechanics in 1994. After becoming a full professor in 1996, he continues to be a Visiting Professor and Senior Lecturer of Ocean/Mechanical Engineering at MIT. He is an AAS Fellow (2018-), Fellow of the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM, 2010-), Fellow of the American Physical Society (APS, 2004-), Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME, 2003-) and Associate Fellow of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA, 2006-). He received Alexander von Humboldt award in 2017, the Ralf E Kleinman award from SIAM (2015), the J. Tinsley Oden Medal (2013), and the CFD award (2007) by the US Association in Computational Mechanics. His h-index is 90 and he has been cited over 41,000 times.

   Gitta Kutyniok (TU Berlin)

Gitta Kutyniok currently holds an Einstein Chair at the Technische Universität Berlin and is head of the Applied Functional Analysis Group. She received her Diploma in Mathematics and Computer Science as well as her Ph.D. degree from the Universität Paderborn in Germany, and her Habilitation in Mathematics in 2006 at the Justus-Liebig Universität Gießen. From 2001 to 2008 she held visiting positions at several US institutions, including Princeton University, Stanford University, Yale   University, Georgia Institute of Technology, and Washington University in St. Louis. In 2008, she became a full professor of mathematics at the Universität Osnabrück, and moved to Berlin three years later.
She received a research award from the Universität Paderborn in 2003, the Research Prize of Gießen and a Heisenberg-Fellowship in 2006, the von Kaven Prize by the DFG in 2007, and an Einstein Chair in 2008. She gave the Noether Lecture at the \"OMG-DMV Congress in 2013 and the Hans Schneider ILAS Lecture at IWOTA in 2016, and became a member of the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities in 2017. She is Scientific and Executive Director of the graduate school BIMoS and Chair of the SIAM Activity Group on Imaging Sciences as well as of the MATH+ Activity Group on Mathematics of Data Science. Her main research interests are in the areas of applied harmonic analysis, compressed sensing, deep learning, imaging science, high-dimensional data analysis, inverse problems, and applications to life sciences and telecommunication.